Are Cheetos Halal Or Haram? Find Out The Answer

The world of different snacks impresses us. Today you can choose from a wide diversity of snacks of different kinds – sweet, salty, spicy, or sour. Some of them are healthy, and some – are not that much. Among this diversity, Cheetos are very popular. Crunchy, puffs flamin’ hot – you can find everything you like. Even though they are tasty, another question arises – are Cheetos halal or haram? This is a very specific question and this article will help you find the answer.

Are Cheetos Halal or Haram?

Cheetos are not halal, therefore, they should be considered haram according to Islamic laws. The main reason why they are not halal lies in the ingredients and the way they are made. Cheetos have many ingredients that are considered haram, in other words, unlawful. 

What Is Halal and Haram Food?

In Islam, halal refers to everything permitted under the Islam religion. Although in most cases it applied to food, any actions which are permissible under Islam laws are halal. On the other hand, haram or non-halal refers to everything prohibited and unlawful according to Islamic teachings.

The notion of halal food in Islam is similar to kosher food in Judaism. Overall, all food that is not explicitly prohibited in the Quran, is halal. For example, most vegan food is halal only if it does not contain alcohol. It is a bit more complicated with meat. Thus, for the meat to be halal, the animal has to be slaughtered in a certain manner. Thus, it has to die by cutting the carotid artery, jugular vein, or windpipe to drain all blood because consumption of blood is haram. However, regardless of how the animal was slaughtered, some meat is still haram. Some haram products include:

  • Blood;

  • Pork and its by-products;

  • Alcohol;

  • Meat that was slaughtered for idols;

  • Dead animals that were not slaughtered;

  • Birds of prey.

If some food contains by-products of non-halal products, the food is considered haram as well. This can also apply to Cheetos. Everything depends on the ingredients and their origin.

What Are Cheetos Made Of?

The main ingredients of Cheetos are cornmeal and vegetable oil (can be corn oil, sunflower oil, or canola). Other ingredients are natural and artificial flavors, cheese seasoning, and maltodextrin. Cheese seasoning consists of whey, milk, cheddar cheese, assorted cheese cultures, and salt. 

Cheetos are one of the most popular snacks in the US and around the world. They were invented in 1948 in Dallas. The very first product – Crunchy Cheetos – is still a trending option. But since then Cheetos’ shelf has been added by other Cheetos products such as Cheetos Puffs, Flamin’ Hot, and others.

Are Cheetos Halal?

Cheetos are not halal, they are haram because they contain ingredients that are haram under Islamic laws. Such ingredients include monosodium glutamate (MSG), artificial colors which are derived from insects, and whey. 

Cheetos themselves do not have any haram products, such as pork or alcohol. However, many of their ingredients are considered non-halal. For instance, whey – one of the cheese seasoning ingredients is haram. Whey is a by-product of milk that is made after milk is curdled. Not all whey is haram. Thus, if the production of cheese and whey rennet that was used was halal, whey is good to consume under Islamic laws.

Renner is extracted from an animal’s stomach. And here if an animal was slaughtered in a halal way, rennet and, as a consequence, whey will be halal. PepsiCo itself, as a company producing Cheetos, said that it is better to avoid its products containing whey if consumers are concerned with halal food.

Some artificial colors used for Cheetos are derived from insects, which are considered unclean, therefore, non-halal. Red cheese powder is made from corn starch and cow fat which also can be considered haram.

Monosodium glutamate as an ingredient is derived from pork or beef residue, therefore, also falls among non-halal foods. MSG is used in cooking as a flavor enhancer to intensify the meaty and savory taste.

As one can see, the question if Cheetos are halal is complex and depends on the ingredients and how they were derived. Therefore, before buying your favorite snacks, read the ingredients list and make sure it is safe to eat for Muslims. Also, different countries may have different ingredients lists for Cheetos production to take into consideration laws and people’s preferences.

Are Cheetos Puffs Halal?

Cheetos Puffs contain milk cheese enzymes which can be considered haram Therefore, Cheetos Puffs in general are non-halal. 

Cheetos Puffs are among the most popular Cheetos snacks and they are sold all over the world. Their production requires such ingredients: cornmeal, whey, artificial coloring, natural and artificial flavoring, monosodium glutamate, citric acid, lactic acid, maltodextrin, milk cheese enzymes, and canola oil. In addition to cheese enzymes, monosodium glutamate and whey can also be haram.

Are Flamin’ Hot Cheetos Halal?

Flamin’ Hot Cheetos are not halal since they contain porcine cheese enzymes and seasoning that are derived from pork. Since pork and its derivatives are non-halal products, Hot Cheetos are haram and cannot be consumed by Muslims who make their diets under the laws.

You cannot even suspect that the package of your favorite Flamin’ Hot Cheetos has pork products inside. How is that even possible? But it is true. Among other ingredients that all Cheetos have, Hot Cheetos have enzymes and seasoning that are made of pork derivatives. Therefore, devoted Muslims should avoid such snacks.

Are Cheetos Crunchy Halal?

A close look into the Crunchy Cheetos ingredients allows seeing that Crunchy Cheetos are halal and are safe for people who profess Islam. Unlike other Cheetos, Crunchy has halal enzymes which are not derived from pork or other intoxicants and does not have MSG or whey. Jalapeno Cheetos also are halal and Muslims can safely enjoy cheesy spicy snacks.


At the first glance, we may think that it is a halal product, but a closer look changes our opinion. Such ingredients as monosodium glutamate, whey, or animal enzymes are derived from non-halal products and are considered haram. Therefore cheetos are not halal!


Are Cheetos Vegan Friendly?

Cheetos are not vegan-friendly and are not the food choice for vegans. In addition to having dairy products (cheese flavor), they have animal-derived enzymes, for example, from pork.

Do Cheetos Have Pork?

In the traditional meaning of the word, Cheetos do not have pork. However, enzymes used for Cheetos production are sometimes derived from pork, Therefore, Cheetos have pork products.

Are Cheetos Cheese Flavors Halal?

Unfortunately, Cheetos Cheese flavors are not halal. The reason is because flavors contain pork and bee by-products which are not halal. Cheese flavor is haram to consume for Muslims.

Recent Posts